Saturday, September 10, 2016

Art in the gardens


Walking through the Royal Botanic Gardens and came upon this artwork.

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Sydney bike rack location


Lots of these stainless steel bike racks around Sydney.

Tuesday, August 2, 2016

No Smoking in Australia


Australia has a low smoking rate and getting lower. No smoking near the fire exits either.

Monday, May 23, 2016

Liberty Place


good place for lunch

Saturday, May 21, 2016

Oddfellows War Memorial


Stands alone now big trees removed from above. At the start of my favourite walk to the harbour.

Friday, May 20, 2016

Obstacle course


Right in the middle of the footpath, I have never seen anyone use this phone, more for advertising revenue. Park and Elizabeth St.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Sydney's main war memorial


In Martin Place in front of the General Post Office.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Sydney sign in yellow


Yep this is Sydney in case you had forgotton, in front of the convict designed St James Supreme Court.

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Hanging out the washing


Martin Place this morning getting ready for a promotion for Kit and Ace. "Canadian technical cashmere experts Kit and Ace continue their pursuit for Australian domination with a new store opening in the heart of Sydney in Martin Place, which will be the brand’s first international tailor shop in the country. The 360 square metre retail space will offer more of the same classic tailoring and technical details Kit and Ace have become known for, but will feature a Technical Atelier, a workshop for up-and-coming local designers. Part tailor shop, part design lab, the Technical Atelier is a hub of innovation where Designers in Residence capture fresh trends and local input to create new styles."

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Knitted doric column


The Art Gallery is getting in on the knitting fad. What next - the Harbour Bridge?

Monday, April 11, 2016

View from airport lounge


Waiting at the airport with those iconic red tails. Still the safest - thanks Rain Man.

Thursday, April 7, 2016

Dog driving truck.


Outside Roses cafe in Goulburn. Yep.

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Yackandandah Street Parade


I love Yack, down here for the annual music festival. They kick off with a street parade, this year's theme - circus.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Queen in harbour


The Queen Elizabeth moored at the Overseas Passenger Terminal. Bound for Yorkey's Knob, then Rabaul, Cebu and Hong Kong. Friends were sailing.

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Hunt for Red February


Submarine in Sydney Harbour, don't know which one - as it does not have markings. Australia has a Collins-class fleet. Looking to buy some new ones for about 1 billion each.

Monday, February 15, 2016

Eucalyptus Grandis


This tree can grow to be the tallest tree in the state. (85m). It is in my front yard and it needs a haircut. Some limbs are widowmakers. Who are your going to call ... tree loppers.

Friday, February 5, 2016

Chinese New Year Sydney 2016


Martin Place is setting up for the start of the celebrations tonight. Kung he fat choy.

Friday, January 15, 2016

Room with a view


Lighthouse keepers cottage Barrenjoey lighthouse.

Thursday, January 14, 2016

The big sheep


This is one of the many 'Big' things that country towns erect to attract visitors. This ram is at Goulburn about 2 hours drive south of Sydney. Australia used to rely on wool exports, it was said 'we rode on the sheep's back'.

Friday, December 18, 2015

Morning mass at St Marys


Morning mass today, the christmas trees placed in rows created a fresh smell.